Tempest in an Aussie Teapot

Brought to you by Uncle and Rustmeister (2). The Aussie post in Question.

There really is a simpler answer here. I’ve been reading a lot of gun blogs in the last 6 months or so. Almost without exception, gun bloggers (who usually self-identify as “right wing” and who probably voted for George W. Bush in the last Presidential election) have concerns, sometimes very serious ones, about the direction the country is headed; the way the Administration is handling the “War on Terror,” both at home and abroad; and the general consolidation of power into government hands. However, perhaps regrettably, if a foreigner starts to impugn our foreign policy, domestic policy, or whatnot, the natural reaction is to close ranks and defend our Country / President / Troops / Policies / whatever. People who may hold nuanced opinions about many of these matters will simplify those views rather quickly when facing a shouting match.

Now, the next thing to point out here is that all honest American Gun Nuts will quickly admit that the Second Amendment (which enshrines the Right to Keep and Bear Arms) really has little to do with self-defense, hunting, or sport. Its primary role is to keep the government out of our business. It is a check against Tyranny — the last and final check, at that (the old chestnut of the 4 Boxes: Ballot, Soap, Jury, and Ammo).

It’s that unshakeable paranoia that convinces so many of these gun weirdos that they need to turn their homes into fortresses bristling with enough weaponry to equip a small third world army. Doesn’t matter what anyone says to them, they believe the world consists of people who want to attack them if only they get half a chance.

Actually, that might also explain a lot about US foreign policy.

See also this Aussie post. In it, Aussie basically states that the US Government is comprised of either 1) dumbasses; 2) lunatics; or 3) dangerous liars. Ok, Aussie, let’s just assume for a second that you’re correct (although I’m actually in agreement, more than you probably realize). Well, I think that Aussie can rest fairly easy — I don’t think the USA is going to attack Oz anytime soon. But what about us Americans? Those of us who are “in the belly of the beast,” as it were? Well, guess what? We Americans are daily watching our civil liberties eroded by those same dumbasses, lunatics, and dangerous liars! If you’re scared sitting on the others side of the planet, do you think that we’re sitting here complacently? Why do you think that we would want to make ourselves helpless before such a government? We don’t, and that is the fundamental reason why we are so forceful about the RKBA. It really has very little to do with defending ourselves against street violence. It has everything to do with defending ourselves against a lying, tyrannical government. Whether that government exists currently or might possibly exist in the future is a matter for debate, but it actually doesn’t matter — the RKBA must stand or else our country is forfeit.

So, to recap my argument in a couple of sentences: Aussie is scared of what he perceives as a tyrannical, lying, stupid, insane US Government. At least he has a few thousand miles of ocean separating him from it. We Americans must rely on our guns for our defense against such a government, albeit only as a last resort (and if this Heller case works out, I think you will hear a collective sigh of relief that we won’t have to go there anytime soon).

BTW, the only reason why I own so many guns, and why I am on a gun-buying spree (I bought 2 at an Evil Loophole Gun Show last weekend — from FFL dealers, so I did have to go through two background checks) is my fear that the FedGov will ban them again. That is honestly the only reason. I would only have… mmm, probably 5 guns right now if I weren’t fearful about this. And they would all be of the self-defense, hunting or sporting type. I would not have any “assault weapons” (or pseudo-“assault weapons” like the SKS) nor would I plan on buying any any time soon. “What the hell would you want an AK or AR for?” is actually a valid question. I really don’t “want” either, and I see them as being fairly purpose-less in my everyday life (potential SHTF or TEOTWAWKI situations notwithstanding). What I really want right now (and would buy, if money were no object) is a nice over/under shotgun (which, as far as I know, is one of the few guns still allowed in Australia). However, they cost $1000+, and I can buy at least 2 AK’s for that. And I know that AK’s would be banned long before over/under shotguns. So, I have to re-prioritize and get some AK’s and AR’s while the getting’s good. So the answer to the question has become “Because I can get them now, and I might not be able to get them in the future.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Tempest in an Aussie Teapot”

  1. Rustmeister Says:

    I’d like to point out that I voted for Bush, and will vote for McCain not because I identify myself as conservative (I don’t), but because the alternative is much, much worse.

  2. HKPistole Says:

    This looks like it’s going to be a pretty good blog, well thought-out and interesting.

    methinks I’ll stick around.


Leave a Reply

